European Solheim Cup side named Sunday Times Team of the Year

Date: 8th December 2011

Alison Nicholas MBE received the award for Team of the Year at The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year awards on behalf of The 2011 European Solheim Cup team.

Europe’s captain picked up the prestigious accolade at a star-studded reception in London on Wednesday night.  

The Solheim Cup-winners beat off stiff opposition from the likes of world champion rowing pair Katherine Grainger and Anna Watkins.

The award was presented by Lord Coe and Nicholas said: “Once again I'm delighted to accept this award on behalf of the team as it really was a team effort.”

Alison Nicholas MBE with Sarah Stevenson

Taekwondo champion Sarah Stevenson was named Sportswoman of the Year for 2011, after a public vote. Cycling’s Lucy Garner won the Young sportswoman of the Year award.

Now in their 24th year, the Sportswomen of the Year Awards are among the most prestigious and influential in the British sporting calendar.

As well as celebrating high-profile female athletes, with previous winners include Margaret Alphonsi, Paula Radcliffe, Pippa Funnell, Denise Lewis, Dame Kelly Holmes and Zara Phillips, the event recognises women at all levels of British sporting life.

The European Solheim Cup team, who won 15-13 over the United States at Killeen Castle in County Meath, Ireland, in September, comprised Christel Boeljon, Laura Davies, Sandra Gal, Sophie Gustafson, Caroline Hedwall, Maria Hjorth, Catriona Matthew, Azahara Muñoz, Anna Nordqvist, Suzann Pettersen, Melissa Reid and Karen Stupples.  

The team’s 7-5 singles score meant it was a fourth victory from 12 contests since the competition’s inception in 1990, and they will go to Colorado Golf Club in two years’ hoping to win in the USA for the first time.  

Several British members of the European Solheim Cup Team will attend the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards in Manchester, on Thursday December 22.  The side will be shortlisted for the Team of the Year award, but will face stiff opposition from the England cricket squad.